The New Mexico Land Grant Council is an agency of state government administratively attached to the New Mexico Department of Finance and Administration.  It was founded in 2009 by statute and provides support to 24 land grants-mercedes in New Mexico recognized as units of government (political subdivisions of the state).  It also serves as a liaison between mercedes and other state agencies and the federal government. The Council consists of five members appointed by the Governor.  (See About us.)

During 2013-2014 the Council expects to hold its meetings at either the Bataan Memorial Building in Santa Fe or at the Southwest Hispanic Research Institute on the University of New Mexico Albuquerque campus.  For the date, time, and location of next month’s meeting please go to Meetings>>Upcoming Agenda. For directions and parking information see Meetings.


***The New Mexico Land Grant Council is now offering financial assistance to qualifying community land grants in the form of grants as part of the Land Grant Support Fund program. Community Land Grants that are political sub-divisions of the State of New Mexico are eligible to receive support under this program. If your land grant is interested in applying for funding or have questions please  e-mail the council at nmlandgrantcouncil@gmail.com or contact Arturo Archuleta at (505) 328-4104. ***


For general inquiries you may contact the NM Land Grant Council at:

NM Land Grant Council
Department of Finance and Administration
407 Galisteo St.
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
Tel: 505 249.6759
Email: nmlandgrantcouncil@gmail.com

Photo:  The background to this page presents the view east from the bend of the Río de Chama to the Cerro Pedernal, an area that includes the San Joaquín del Río de Chama and Juan Bautista Baldés land grant-mercedes.  The land grant-mercedes of Piedra Lumbre and Abiquiú are located to the left and just behind the horizon of this photo.

  • Events

    • No events
  • Calendar of Activities and Events

    << Sep 2014 >>
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7
    8 9 10 11 12 13 14
    15 16 17 18 19 20 21
    22 23 24 25 26 27 28
    29 30 1 2 3 4 5