Community Land Grants

There are 23 land grant-mercedes that are units of government of the State of New Mexico.  Further information about these here. There are eight other community land grants that are not presently units of government; information here.   Spanish-Mexican Community land grants were either grants of land made by Spanish or Mexican authorities in New Mexico to “the town of . . .”, or mentioned community lands to be used by villagers, or were individual grants that over time became recognized as community land grants because of the presence of village communities and common lands.  The focus of the NM Land Grant Council is on community land grants-mercedes that are recognized as units of government under state law.

Photo:  Cebolleta’s iconic mountain peak.  Photo courtesy Cebolleta Land Grant-merced.